Pushkar to Jodpur

I neglected to mention in my previous blog, probably due to sleep deprivation, we have been kept awake by 24/7 harri christna music; even as I write this in Jodpur, many miles away, I can still hear “harri, harri, HARRI”. A few of the guys went to the temple where they where playing, and they seemed to think they where doing good by playing all day and night.

I also forgot to mention that my self and Tom got on the back of a motorbike and rode three man, helmet-less and in the Indian driving style! Which was an experience, but I don’t want to do it again; I was sitting on the storage rack and had to use the exhaust as a foot peg; I think some of my sandal melted into it. I am still coughing from Pushkar air L because it was in a valley, the many camp fires of the faryre accumulated; the picture I posted last time of mist in the mountains is actually smoke L I was disappointed rather than upset when a local told me that.

The place we where staying in became super cool as the camel fayre kicked off; it had a real community feeling and we met allot of cool people. Mike and Lauren went off to another town and I am not sure if they will be hooking up with us again.

On the way out of Pushkar, the night before everything kicked off and the town went mental with new people and before the police rolled in and took over, there was a strange quiet (probably because the western wives show was on); My self and Tom found a whole new town of no hassle, where we felt we could actually look in the shops (they really need to learn marketing 101 here); we stumbled upon a shop where they make custom silver, so I had a bracelet customised to say Shackahari, in Hindi, which means vegitarian 🙂 so when I go to restaurants it will be less of a hassle to order food; they don’t have a word for vegan here which means anything to anyone.

Oh yes,our shirts turned out very wrong:


The train to Jodpur was bad as usual; we booked the higher class, but the carriage was taken over by the military, to whom ticket rules do not apply, so they simply turn up and take other people’s space, which is outrageous. When we got on the train there was no space for us to sling our bags, but we booked the upper bunk so we could sleep… now with our bags in Indian sized beds L I was not well at this point as I suspect the scrambled tofu on toast I had for breakfast, may have had real eggs in it as the texture and taste was very real. Although eggs are illegal in Pushkar, you can still get them, along with alcohol and meat, which are also illegal.

Jodpur is a nice little town, but when I got here my change pouch disappeared and a L shaped gash magically appeared in my trouser pocket, out of which my belongings started to fall out, which was probably the street kid who was fallowing us for a while. I was really spaced out from sickness which made me easy pickings I guess. Respect to the thief though, I never even felt the hole in my pocket being cut. When I went looking for anything for my keys hoping they where discarded, a nice man kindly asked what I was looking for and also asked if I had lost mastercard or visa… what a nice man; of course I had not lost any, but I wish I said mastercard so he spent his night looking for it.

We where going to go for a ubber-room at our hotel, but they seemed to think it was okay to pay 750rs for a room with holes in which mosquitoes can fly though and bite you, so we went for a semi-ubber-room, which is much needed after 5 days bad sleep in Pushkar (thanks harri christna’s)

In our first day here we had a wonder around, only something is very strange here: NO HASSLE, or at least very little, which is very refreshing. I was not stressed out at all for the first few hours, and I can’t remember how long it has been since I felt that way here. We got a few hellos and a few “baba, buckshish”, which is how people generally ask for money, but not to much hassle from the shops, and the rickshaws do not stalk you when you say no.

We walked though the court district and saw Indian barristers and lawyers in the traditional garb, but also female lawyers in saris with suit jackets on top, which was different. After that we checked out the local museum, which was also different… they had some good crap in their, but mostly crap-crap such as a towel with Marwa museum embroidered on display, and other assorted local products. Tom took a single photo of a massive crocodile which had been taxidermy’d, and then a security guard went absolutely MENTAL at him, and was all in his face shouting at him in Hindi, which after a while we worked out to be about the photo as he made motions indicating his intent to take Tom’s expensive camera away and probably break it; I thought I may have to stand between them as I have seen how the security guards operate here i.e. beat the crap out of who ever they feel has done wrong; we spoke to the guy who let us in, who then points to a small sign on the wall, with such ridiculous rules as “no blankets” which had written in smudged marker at the bottom “no photography”, the guy seemed to think we where in the wrong also but let it go; Tom seemed happy to drop it as he walked away, but I had to try and explain contract law to this guy, as they seem to think it is okay to stipulate terms of contract after money has been passed (contract signed) and in a covert manner, but he was not interested and walked away. I think I will be writing to someone about this incident as it is a government museum in the legal district FFS; I think the Rajisthan tourism guys are the ones to go to.

We where wondering around; checking out tailors; looking for cheap linen and looking for good tea. We stumbled into a tea shop which tried to screw us for 300 rupee, for a bag of tea, but Tom plays hard ball and got it for 100; but they did the bag trick i.e. they put the tea in a sealed bag when handing it to us, and because that scam is sooo very old school we did not even think about it, l until opening the bag, to find some of the ingredients less than fresh. On a brighter note I had my first cup of real chai vegan style, courtesy of a nice lady called Relco of Spice Paradise who I recommend; we will be learning some cooking from her when we get back (for google’s sake Shubham Provision Store, Girdi Kote, Amar Chowk, Jodhpur).

On our last day here, we walked the narrow streets to find the back entrance to the fort; apparently not allot of western tourists bother and get on the bus or in a cab. Some kids at the top where trick me into saying hindi swear words for please and thanks, one asked if I was single, then said he was then they all giggled like little homophobes (FYI not gay), he also said he would never forget me when I saw him later, grrrr but I still like this town.

We have to get up at 5:30 in the morning to catch a train to Mt Abu J I expect four people will be sleeping in my bed when we get on the train: I am not going to play nice anymore.


About this entry